In their own words: candidates make their pitch in Butler County

In their own words: candidates make their pitch in Butler County

As Butler County GOP Chairman Cleve Poole put it, Greenville was “the place to be” last night.

The Butler County Republican Party hosted a candidate forum Tuesday night inviting those running for statewide office and Congress to address the local GOP faithful and visit with them one-on-one. Not all candidates could make it, but it was as good a showing top to bottom as I’ve seen so far this election cycle.

“We really appreciated all of the candidates coming down to Butler County – and more importantly, all the Butler County voters who came out to see the state candidates,” Poole said. “It was THE place to be in Alabama politics tonight!”

Each candidate was asked to address the audience for two minutes each, and I was able to capture video of each one. While I can’t say the video quality is very impressive, I think you can get a good idea of what each candidate said and how they presented themselves.

Below is the video from each GOP candidate in attendance, beginning with candidates for Governor and Congress in AL-2. Unfortunately, Twitter limits videos to 2:20, so some got cut off before they finished. But, I promise all you miss is the candidate saying some variation of “thank you for having me” or “it’s great to be here.”

Note: these videos look and sound better if you watch them directly on Twitter, and you can do that by visiting this THREAD.


Scott Dawson

Huntsville Mayor Tommy Battle

Congress – AL-2

Tommy Amason

Former U.S. Rep. Bobby Bright

Rich Hobson

State Rep. Barry Moore

U.S. Rep.Martha Roby – incumbent

Lt. Governor

State Rep. Will Ainsworth

State Sen. Rusty Glover

Attorney General

Chess Bedsole

Attorney General Steve Marshall – incumbent

Former U.S. Attorney Alice Martin

Supreme Court Chief Justice

Associate Justice Tom Parker

Chief Justice Lynn Stuart – incumbent

Supreme Court Associate Justice Place 1

Debra Jones

Justice Brad Mendhiem Рincumbent 

Court of Civil Appeals Place 1

Christy Edwards

Michelle Thomason

Court of Criminal Appeals Place 1

Richard Minor

Court of Criminal Appeals Place 2

Richard Anderson

Chris McCool

Court of Criminal Appeals Place 3

Bill Cole

Donna Beaulieu

Commissioner of Agriculture

Rick Pate


John McMillian

Secretary of State

John Merrill


Elliot Lipinsky